Databases
PLEASE NOTE: If you are trying to use or access the library databases remotely, please have your Enfield Library card number ready.
Auto Repair
When it comes to auto repair, “DIY-ers,” students and automotive enthusiasts have trusted Chilton repair manuals for years. Now these authoritative manuals are available in a simple-to-use, online resource that’s available 24/7 where ever there’s an internet connection. ChiltonLibrary helps DIYers save time and money with their auto repairs for both domestic and import vehicles.
Business & Law
ABI/Inform
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Gale Directory Library
For business researchers, Gale Directory Library is the essential tool for research and marketing alike. A treasure trove of 51 trusted directories on companies, publishers, associations, and more—sources that cannot be found elsewhere on the Internet. With expanded data and state-of-the-art search and export features, data sorting, filtering and exporting is easy.
Learning Express
Includes access to the Job & Career Accelerator and Computer Skills Center.
Reference Solutions (Formerly Reference USA)
This business database contains comprehensive information on 14 million businesses and includes the listings from more than 5,000 residential telephone directories.
Small Business Reference center
Provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.
Career and Jobs
Live, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques. Experience personalized career center seamlessly integrated with advanced virtual technology to help job seekers of diverse backgrounds and needs.
Learning Express
Includes access to the Job & Career Accelerator and Computer Skills Center.
REFERENCE Solutions (Formerly Reference USA)
This business database contains comprehensive information on 14 million businesses and includes the listings from more than 5,000 residential telephone directories.
Education
ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Highlights content relevant to teachers, including lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.
Learning Express
Includes access to the Job & Career Accelerator and Computer Skills Center.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals covering librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Professional Development Collection
A highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
eReference Books
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Enfield's customized collection of more than 100 online reference books in arts, biography, business, education, environment, health, history, law, literature, medicine, nation and world, religion, science, social science, and technology.
Mas Ultra
Contains full text for nearly 500 high school magazines, 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 107,000 primary source documents and image collection of over 510,000 items.
Middle Search Plus
Contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines, 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents.
Primary Search
Contains full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research.
Databases (Category)
Auto Repair
Business
Career & Jobs
Education
eReference Books
Genealogy & Family History
General
Health & Medicine
History & Biography
Hobbies
Investment & Personal Finance
Language Learning
Law
Literature
Magazines & Journals
Music
Newspapers
People & Places
En Espanol
Science
Student Resources
Databases (Alphabetical)
ABI/Inform
Academic Search Premier
America’s news
Ancestry - Library Edition ** Library Only **
ArtistsWorks
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)
Biography Reference Center
ChiltonLibrary
Chicago Tribune
Connecticut Post Collection
Consumer Reports
Contemporary Authors Online
Creativebug
CT E-License Online
EBSCOhost Espanol
EBSCOhost For Public Libraries
Enfield Press (1969-1983)
The Enfield Press (1984-)
ERIC
Explora Educator's Edition
Explora For Elementary School
Explora For High School
Explora For Middle School
FamilySearch - Library Affiliate
Flipster
Fold3
Gale Directory Library
Gale Literary Sources
Gale Virtual Reference Library
GreenFILE
Hartford Courant
1764-1992
1992-Present
Hartford Courant
Heritage Quest
History Reference Center
Job Now: Live Employment Assistance
Kiplinger's Personal Finance
LA Times (1985-Present)
Learning Express
Legal Information Reference Center
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
MagillOnLiterature Plus
MainFILE
MAS Ultra
MasterFILE Premier
MedlinePlus
Middle Search Plus
Morningstar Investment Research Center
New York Post Collection
New York Times (1980 - Present)
Newspaper Source Plus
Onesearch For Elementary Schools
Onesearch For High Schools
Onesearch For Middle Schools
OverDrive Magazines
PowerSearch
The Press (1983-1984)
Professional Development Collection
Proquest
PubMed
Reference Solutions
Referencia Latina
ResearchIt CT
ResearchIt CT Onesearch
Science Reference Center
Small Business Reference Center
Springfield Republican Collection
Teacher Reference Center
Thompsonville Press (1880-1969)
TopicSearch
Transparent Online Languages
US Major Dailies
Value Line
Wall Street Journal (1984 - Present)
Washington Post (1987 - Present)
Genealogy & Family History
Ancestry - Library Edition ** Library use only **
For Genealogists of all levels, Ancestry Library Edition provides users with access to the premier genealogy database. Access includes use of the U.S. Census, Immigration and Naturalization Records, as well as UL census information.
FamilySearch - Library Affiliate ** Library Use Only **
Free access to millions of records, resources, and services to learn more about your family history.
Fold3
Provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos and documents of the men and women who served. It contains millions of records from world-class archives. Invaluable for historians, genealogists, researchers, military enthusiasts, veterans and their families, teachers and battle reenactors.
Heritage Quest
Provides genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, with coverage dating back as early as the 1700s.
General
A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
Learning Express
Includes access to the Job & Career Accelerator and Computer Skills Center.
MainFILE
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text and indexing and abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications. Coverage encompasses all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database also offers over 440,000 photos, maps and flags and more than 17,500 company profiles. MainFile is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
PowerSearch
A sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information. Discover a collection of authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content.
Proquest
Business, history and newspaper database.
ResearchIT CT
Directory of resources provided by the Connecticut State Library for Connecticut residents.
Researchit CT OneSearch
Connecticut's Research Engine powered by EBSCO to in an easy-to-use and powerful search engine.
TopicSearch
Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Health & Medicine
CT e-license Online
Look up license, permit, certification or registration information on professionals registered in the state of Connecticut. Recommended for looking up physicians.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
PubMed
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, at the U.S. National Library of Medicine, located at the National Institutes of Health.
History & Biography
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)
Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries). Biography Reference Bank covers over 600,000 people with links to over 300,000 related full-text articles, as well as abstracts and images from thousands of periodicals and over 35,000 images.
Biography Reference Center
A comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
History Reference Center
Learn about U.S. and World History. Access more than 113,000 historical photos and maps; 77,000 biographies of historical figures; 57,000 historical documents; 1,620 reference books from leading history publishers; 150 history periodicals and 80 hours of historical video.
Hobbies
Unlimited access to beginning to advanced lessons for instruments and vocal art.
Sign in with your Enfield Library card number, then scroll down to “Extras” and “Get” to access ArtistWorks.
Creativebug
Offering thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. An inspirational resource for DIY, crafters and makers.
Transparent Language Online
Unlimited access to more than 100 online language courses, packed with pronunciation, speech, grammar, writing and vocabulary-building lessons. Users have the ability to write or speak their answers, practice pronunciation by slowing down the on-screen examples, and converse with native speakers though interactive videos. Users can learn on their own time, at their own pace in the library, in the comfort of their own home, or on the go with the Transparent Language app.
Investment & Personal Finance
Morningstar provides data and analysis on over 41,000 investments. It also contains screening tools for stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs, articles and videos on investing and personal finance, saving calculators, and more.
Value Line
Access financial information for over 3,500 stocks. Invest with confidence using statistical analysis, graphic indicators, and projection tools.
Language Learning
Unlimited access to more than 100 online language courses, packed with pronunciation, speech, grammar, writing and vocabulary-building lessons. Users have the ability to write or speak their answers, practice pronunciation by slowing down the on-screen examples, and converse with native speakers though interactive videos. Users can learn on their own time, at their own pace in the library, in the comfort of their own home, or on the go with the Transparent Language app.
Law
Legal Information Reference Center
Providing online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, with more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. This database offers the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues including business law, financial planning, family law, real estate and rights and disputes. Includes access to electronic law books and legal forms by state.
Literature
MagillOnLiterature Plus
This literary database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
Magazines & Journals
Popular Magazines
From ResearchIt CT, an offering of popular digital magazines including: The Atlantic, Bonjour, The New Yorker, People, Popular Mechanics, Ebony, Esquire, Rolling Stone, Saturday Evening Post, Good Housekeeping, Time, Men's Health and more!
CONSUMER REPORTS
Consumer reports Buying Guide
KIPLINGER'S PERSONAL FINANCE
Overdrive Magazines
Free e-magazine platform
Flipster
Music
Unlimited access to beginning to advanced lessons for instruments and vocal art.
Sign in with your Enfield Library card number, then scroll down to “Extras” and “Get” to access ArtistWorks.
Newspapers
A wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S, including Hartford Courant, Connecticut Post, Journal Inquirer and New Haven Register.
Connecticut Post Collection
Thompsonville/Enfield Press Collection
Thompsonville Press (1880-1969)
Enfield Press (1969-1983)
The Press (1983-1984)
The Enfield Press (1984-)
Hartford Courant
Hartford Courant Collection
Journal Inquirer
LA Times (1985-present)
New York Post Collection
New York Times (1980 - present)
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Springfield Republican Collection
US Major Dailies
Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
USA Today
WALL STREET JOURNAL (1984 - present)
wASHINGTON pOST (1987 - PRESENT)
People & Places
This business database contains comprehensive information on 14 million businesses and includes the listings from more than 5,000 residential telephone directories.
En Español
EBSCOHost Espanol
REFERENCIA LATINA
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Science
GreenFILE
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as, Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER
Focuses on key concepts taught in school classrooms including applied science, earth science, life science, physical science, scientists and space science.
Student Resources
ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER
Provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Contemporary Authors Online
Complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work.
Explora for Elementary School
The most complete collection of full-text reference resources available for elementary schools. It consists of four database designed to promote both student and educator success.
Explora for Middle School
Consisting of six databases, this collection offers the most complete collection of full-text reference resources available for middle schools. The databases are designed to promote both student and educator success.
Explora for High School
This package offers the most comprehensive collection of full-text reference resources available for high schools. Consisting of six databases to support classroom success, it is designed not only for students, but also for the research needs of educators.
Gale Literary Sources
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres.
MagillOnLiterature Plus
This literary database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
Mas Ultra
Contains full text for nearly 500 high school magazines, 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 107,000 primary source documents and image collection of over 510,000 items.
Middle Search Plus
Contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines, 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents.
OneSearch for Elementary Schools
OneSearch for elementary schools searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to elementary school students of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content.
OneSearch for Middle Schools
OneSearch for middle schools searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to middle school students of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content.
OneSearch for High Schools
OneSearch for high schools searches simultaneously all content in researchIT CT considered to be most useful to high school students of Connecticut, using one search interface and a unified index of all content.
Primary Search
Contains full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research.
